• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

School me on bicycles

Gunanddoglover

Default rank 5000+ posts Lifetime Supporter
The Dog Father
315   0
Reaction score
Gwinnett, trailer park of the Milky Way Galaxy
I'm thinking about cycling for exercise I have been using a stationary bike for 2 years its convenient, but it's boring. I live 2.5 miles from work so that would be my primary use, however I would like the option of using it on trails. I have no idea where to start or what to look for so please help me out I don't want to be at the mercy of a dimwit sailing bikes. Cost is a factor, but I have no idea what a decent bike cost. I'm 62 in good health and decent physical condition still on my original equipment knees.
Thanks for the input

A couple of years ago the Mrs and I picked up a couple Treks, I use a Marlin and she has a Verve. We like them and can pretty much go anywhere a recreational cyclist wants to go. Almost every town in the US has some kind of bike trail nearby so we enjoy taking them pretty much everywhere we go. I noticed the prices have gone up about 100-150 on the two models we have, but I have no complaints with the brand and there are several stores in the Atlanta area that carry them and service them. That also applies to Specialized and Giant if they have a model you like better.

They have a model called the Dual Sport that might suit your needs, the Mrs, Verve is very comfortable also. My marlin is a pretty decent entry level mountain bike for mild trails etc,

You should be able to find something for under 1K. You can get a cheap bike but there is a difference if you step up a bit, mainly the frame size, most bikes you buy in Walmart, Academy etc are one one size. The brands that don't sell to big box stores have multiple frame sizes available to fit your body size etc.

11046733_10153101044572156_1329951942052892862_n.jpg